The term “dual certification” refers to the practice of certifying one material as meeting the specification requirements of two different alloys. The most common materials that are dual certified are 304/304L and 316/316L.  Dual certification is achieved by manufacturing the material to cover all requirements of both alloys. For example, the key differences between 316 and 316L are listed in the table below. 316/316L is manufactured to meet the low carbon content of 316L while also meeting the higher yield and tensile strength of 316.

AlloyCarbon (Wt %)Yield Strength (psi)Tensile Strength (psi)
3160.08 Max30,000 min75,000 min
316L0.035 Max25,000 min70,000 min
316/316L0.035 Max30,000 min75,000 min

In addition to 304/304L and 316/316L, some other common alloys that are dual certified include:

  • 304/304H
  • 310S/310H
  • 316/316H
  • 317/317L
  • 321/321H
  • 347/347H
  • 2205 (UNS S31803/S32205)
  • 200/201
  • 800H/800HT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.